lc23tina's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

*When The Sun Comes Up...Fell Lucky Because We Can Still Open Our Eyes To See*

Justin wrote this in his diary:

I don't have much else running around in my brain, so I'm going to take off. As I finish this, the sun is setting and it's amazingly beautiful. Maybe a reminder that it can only get better from here. Yes, we've seen awful, horrible things today, and none of us will leave today unchanged, but the sun will come up tomorrow, and that sunrise will be one of the most beautiful things you've ever seen.

I replied: I don't have anything to say but the sun will rise in the morning to remind "us" who can see it how lucky we are.

It's been many hours since I first turned on the T.V to see what was happening right under my nose. I haven't been able to turn my head from the news. Many people said that they had seen enough but I could not ignore this.

This attack on innocent people will be in my heart and in my mind for a long time, if not forever.

I've seen so many mixed reactions to this. There was hate, hate for the people who just shut down the world, hate for the people who were responisble for this tragic turn of events. A lot of hate.

Anger was a general feel, angry at the fact that there was no way to know this was going to happen.

Sadness. Sadness and heartache for the families of these victims that were taken in one of the most tragic days in history, at least my history. Sadness for the people who didn't get to see their Mother, Father, Sister, Brother, Child or children come home to them.

I feel so much, I wish I could give my life to bring all these people back. I know that could never be so I sit here feeling powerless. Like I am sure so many people do now.

I cannot hate, I find no point in hating anyone. I feel sorry for the sick people who did this. I cannot hate. Hate is and will be the root of the problem far past any of our own lives.

I sit here with tears.

As the minutes turn into hours, the toll for the deceased increases.

I have sat and watched the news in my apartment all day. Un-harmed.

What a world we live in.

The city here has been silenced to a hush.

I wonder now how such things happen, is it because of our religion or race?

Or is it because there are still people out there who believe that all man was not created equal.

When you are faced with this do you wonder who is holding your hand, whether they believe in the same god or if their skin is a different colour? or are you just glad someone is holding you.

Let this be a lesson to all who has ever laid predjudice. I am not a saint, I am as guilty as the next guy. But today my eyes have been opened.

Forever.

-Tina-

1:58 a.m. - 2001-09-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

justibuster
ebony-eyes5
violetwoman
savecraig
unclebob
procrasto
neva4getme
rose36138
raziela
cutielatina
bossique
girlie03
under-shadow
ittybittycat
wifemotherme
trapidi
misspersonal
stealinghope
greenpearl8
iamdana
justlaugh
adventyouth
sillysub
velvetheart
glitterqueen
funkydoodle
pnkpnthr
kalisa
o-twinkle-o
koror
andrew
greenpearl8
cyanidecandy
therertimes