lc23tina's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My first offical appointment

After much thought of starting a pregnancy diary, I don't think my home life and work life will allow that. Instead I am just going to use what I have right here.

Today was my first offical visit with Dr. Day. I knew from the book I am reading that this visit was going to be the longest and most greuling of them all, and it was.

It started out fine, the routine pee in a cup moment followed by many questions. It seemed to be going great. Dr. Day said that I would need a check up of everything my next visit. The pelvic examine, the breast examine, pap smear....ect. That was fine, I could handle that. It gave me time to think about my doctor poking and prodding my naked body. He left the room and said he would be back. A knock came on the door and Betty (the nurse) came strutting it with a drop cloth and some little instruments. BIG lump in throat entered here. She said "come on and get undressed from the waist down and take off your bra. *GULP* Noooooo, this isn't happening til the NEXT visit. Okay, this is happening now. NOOOOOOOOOOO! After my legs turned to jell-o I got undressed with my heart at least beating a million times a second. I sat on the bed and Dr. Day came back in the room. Let me tell you a little bit about my doctor. He is in his early 30's, incredibly good looking, straight teeth, big blue eyes...This man is hot! You can see why my heart was speeding. I was scared that he was going to be "in the ZONE" he was going to be poking and prodding me with little things. I am suprised that I didn't pass out right there. I am nervous of doctors to begin with, and he was getting up close and personal. I made it through the examine. He talked with me all the way thru it and Betty stood right by my side and rubbed my arm, telling me that I was doing good lying still. I don't think I had an option, I couldn't move if I tried, I was tense. Very tense. After it all, I was fine. Our due date changed again to July 29th, but he even thinks thats wrong, because my belly is getting pressure and starting to round out even though there has been no weight gain, in fact I lost a pound. His own words were "I believe you to be in the late second to early thrid month of pregnancy". So, now it's anywhere from June 20th to July 29th. The OB will be able to give us a better date. I have one more visit with Dr. Day before I go to the OB. So the verdict I got today was: I have normal blood pressure (on the lower end of normal), I have a good heart rate, my blood sugar is fantastic (1 point lower than normal- but that was more than likely because I had nothing to eat before I went to see him), my ears, nose and throat are good, my cervix popped (whatever that means, they were happy about it), and the only thing wrong is the fact that I am over weight, but do to my bone structure and my muscle mass, I am not as fat as I thought. And I am healthy other than that fact. So I have been labeled as "low-risk" for my pregnancy. I still need to cut back more on smoking, or quit all together...But even the doctor said, ease off when you are in a stressful situation. I can do that. It's not just me anymore.

So, that's it. I am home, I am feeling a lot better about everything now. I am in good hands. I have a wonderful boyfriend, and a wonderful doctor.

Life

Is

Good.

-T

...

5:44 p.m. - 2002-11-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

justibuster
ebony-eyes5
violetwoman
savecraig
unclebob
procrasto
neva4getme
rose36138
raziela
cutielatina
bossique
girlie03
under-shadow
ittybittycat
wifemotherme
trapidi
misspersonal
stealinghope
greenpearl8
iamdana
justlaugh
adventyouth
sillysub
velvetheart
glitterqueen
funkydoodle
pnkpnthr
kalisa
o-twinkle-o
koror
andrew
greenpearl8
cyanidecandy
therertimes