lc23tina's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Longest entry ever...

This is going to be a long entry. If I were you I would go get a snack�
First things first...
Labor & Birth
All I can say is...What an experience! WOW!
I gave birth at 11:18 PM on Thursday September 30th. Labor started Wednesday morning about 8 AM. I had been dealing with light to mild contractions since the first of September when I went in due to false labor. But Wednesday something felt different. I kept telling John and my Mom that something felt different opposed to all the other days that had passed. I just kept an eye on the contractions and went about my day as normal as possible. There were times that the contractions started to get a wee bit uncomfortable but I am a tough cookie, I wanted to wait as long as I could until either I couldn�t bare the pain or my water broke. Since I could handle the pain and my water didn't break I sent John to work on Wednesday night (he works steady midnights) Just before he left for work, about 10 minutes before he left for work I started to throw up. Wasn't anything major so I still sent him on his merry way with the promise that if my contractions got any worse I would call him and we would go to the hospital in Windsor (Leamington hospital (which is closer) does not have epidurals)
Nothing happened so I went to bed about 11 PM. I got woken up by some MAJOR contractions. It was only 1 AM. I was tired and wanted more sleep too. I tried to go back to bed since the contractions were 7-9 minutes apart and my water hadn't broke. I couldn't sleep though; the pain was getting a little hard to take. I was stubborn though I waited till the contractions were 6 minutes apart before I called John. It was 3 AM by the time I called him. When he got on the phone I said, "Hi baby, can you come home please?" He said "IS IT TIME???????????" Yup. It was time.
Since we moved out to Leamington we are 45-50 minutes away from the City of Windsor. That's where I wanted to deliver the baby. My OB-GYN is in Windsor and they have epidurals at Met Hospital. I was not going into labor without drugs. I am too much of a pussy when the going gets tough. John made it here in about 25 minutes and tried to tell me that he was doing the speed limit. YEAH RIGHT BUDDY. Once he came in the house to pick me up I waited for about a half hour just to make sure I was in fact going into labor. My water hadn't broke and the contractions were 4 minutes apart but they weren't at all regular. I would get a 6-minute and then a 4-minute then a 4-minute than a 7-minute. I was so confused and I didn't want to go in there and it is false labor again. I wanted the kid to be ready to fall out once I got to the hospital. Finally at 4 AM I had John get my things into the car and we went to the hospital.
5 AM we are whisked away to the labor floor for assessment. I was dilated 2 cm. and the contractions started getting regular at 4 minutes apart. Basically we were told that we play the waiting game for a while until my OB could get in to see me or until my water breaks. 6:30 in the morning my OB comes in and checks me out. I had an appointment booked for later that day to see him and talk about being induced on Friday if I hadn't went in to labor. Well surprise surprise. I wasn't making much progress in an hour and a half. While he's examining me he "accidentally" breaks my water. (Apparently he is going to be "reviewed" by the labor and delivery board because he broke my water without the use of instruments - I don't care either way...even though it felt like he was examining my eyelids at that point instead of my cervix) OUCH!
So TRUE labor has started! I was excited for a little while until the contractions went to stage two.
I was wheeled into my room and giving oxytocin (the drug that makes your cervix dilated and progresses your labor) the idea sounded GREAT, ya know they promise your baby will be here soon with these drugs. They just fail to tell you that once the drugs kick in it hurts like hell. The drugs were working, just a little too well. They had to come in and adjust the dose about a million times. Either there was too much going thru me or not enough. Seems like a pain in the ass right? Compared to the other things I went through that day, this was MILD. They finally send the doctor in for the epidural; it's about 11 AM now. They start to explain the whole procedure to me after hearing the risk and benefits, I am not sure if I want it done. I got scared at that point. I had to make that decision before labor went any further and I was told that I really didn't have too much time to actually ponder over the situation. I asked for a pee break while I made up my mind. My wish was granted and I went to the bathroom and actually contemplated running out of the hospital. I didn't though. It took one sharp contraction to make up my mind. I needed and wanted that epidural. Scared as shit I tell the nurse my decision and the doctor comes back in. She tells me what I'm going to feel and then what I'm not going to feel - eventually. I made it through it all with only a few heavy contractions that they had to hold me down for (so ya don't move and paralyze yourself) Things got easier in some ways after that, other things got allot harder.
For some strange reason I developed heartburn, acid reflux in the worse way. I asked to be given something to relieve the burning sensation in my throat, nuttin. I kept asking as it did get allot worse. Nothing. Finally I had heartburn so bad it was turning my stomach to the point where all I could do was vomit. Puke my poor heart and soul out from 1 PM until I gave birth after 11. Ugh. I threw up on just about everyone. Half my family wore my stomach acid and half the labor and delivery staff. Here it was from the epidural and the oxytocin. They deemed it was bile. YUCK! Can you imagine throwing up bile for 10 hours? (This makes no sense...They ended up giving me gravol 1/2 hour before I had Aime to settle my stomach. Don't ya think that would have come in handy earlier?)
Other complications we had...
For some reason Aime's heartbeat wasn't coming up on the external monitor. This was a concern for the docs, the nurses, and ME. Dr. Mundale had to be called to come in and insert a screw type instrument into the top of Aime's head while she was still in the womb. That was pretty freaky. I never heard of that procedure before...Once the instrument was inserted we got a nice clear heartbeat.
Then my contractions weren't being measured properly giving us either really high contraction; really low contractions or no contractions at all. They had to call in Dr. Polsky to insert another instrument to the side of Aime's head and my cervix; it looked like an extremely large paper clip. Once that was done we had nice consistent contractions.
Finally I got to see Dr. Tomc's. He came in to make sure I was still holding in there. This is now 5 PM; he predicts that the baby will be out by 7 PM. He promises that I will have a September baby like I wanted. He tells me that he's not on call for the night but Dr. Jasey is. Me never meeting Dr. Jasey get a little leery. I wanted my OB to deliver, I've been seeing him for over 9 months now...Dr. Tomc's assures me that I will be in good hands with Dr. Jasey. He says "I would never put you in harms way� I felt better knowing that.
Time goes on and on. Between puking and screaming and sleeping time just slips right by. I kept looking at the clock when I could actually focus on it (they had to keep upping my drugs due to all the pain I was in) and I got more and more worried that I wasn't going to have a September baby. I was starting to get very mad at Dr. Tomc.
Finally my nurse says that we are dilated to 9 cm.
Then...a little while later she says, "you can start pushing".
Well holy cow! I can't believe it! This means I am almost at the finish line. After everything that I've been through today my reward is just around the corner.
So I push...and PUSH...AND PUSHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH...AND PUSSSSSSSSSSHHHHHHHHHHHHH
Harder than I thought it would be. 9:30 I get the go ahead to push...I'm still pushing at 10:15
Wait...They see the head.
And I say, "Is this a dream? Are you guys just fucking with me?" Yes, I actually spoke those words. At that point in time I was in some freaky pain. I felt like my head and eyes were going to explode from pushing and Aime had her foot right in my ribs causing some EXTREEM pain. I could have cared less about what I was saying.
The nurse has John come lend a hand. He is instructed to push my left leg as close to my chest as possible. The nurse tells me what�s going on and here comes Tina again...
I say "That's the position that got me into this mess in the first place!"
Apparently my nurse was laughing so hard she had to turn away.
Then everything got serious. Dr. Jasey was called in; it was time for those final pushes that were going to get the baby out. We find out then that she is face up instead of face down, more complications.
Dr. Jasey comes in and I give it all I got. I'm pushing like there�s no tomorrow and still...Aime's head is basically stuck. Time for the forceps. John said he just about died when they pulled out the forceps. I seen nothing. Only heard things...Thank god or I am sure someone would have been picking me up off the floor.
Once the forceps were in it only took a matter of minutes before Aime was born. All I heard was "ONE MORE PUSH TINA"...and then I felt extreme pressure, nothing like I have ever felt before and not sure if I ever want to feel again and then nothing. No pain, no nothing...
It's like I lost all sense of everything. I knew I was waiting to hear if it were a boy or a girl. Nothing was said, or if there was something said I didn't hear it. I started to freak out thinking that there was a problem, I tried to open my eyes and they wouldn't open...
And then...I hear them say
"It's a GIRLLLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
My eyes opened but they were filled with tears as fast as I opened them. All I could say was "WE DID IT!" Aime was put on my chest but I couldn't focus on her and then she was whisked away just as fast as she was put there. I caught a glimpse of John - our eyes met and that was the end of it, we both lost all control and we cried. He came to me and wrapped his arms around me, he kissed me and we just gazed into each other�s eyes, which seemed like forever. I had never been so IN LOVE with him until that moment. Everything I love about him just came right to the surface and magnified a million times. Incredible.
Since our hospitals suck�I had to wait about an hour with my �goodies� hanging out for the world to see while the doc was delivering another baby (Windsor hospitals are known for making you wait�They are severely under staffed). I had to wait to be stitched. Somewhere in the middle of waiting I conked out. I woke up when they came in to stitch me and then when I got to see Aime after she had been weighed and measured. Then, I was out again.
I wake up at 4 AM. I look about in a drowsy state and realize that there is no John and no Aime to be found. I start to freak. My first thought, they WERE fucking with me. No�my legs still feel funny. Okay then where�s my fianc�e and child? I start to scream and after only 4 hours of rest I get my ass out of the bed and start looking for them. My nurse comes flying in at mach speed and explains that there were no beds on the floor so they stuck me in triage area. The rooms are too small for more than a bed so they had John sleep in a waiting area, since I was passed out they took Aime for the night until I woke up and was able to be alert for her. I feel better knowing that I wasn�t dreaming the birth of my daughter and I really felt better after knowing that everything was as it should have been. Aime got brought to me for the rest of the night. I fell asleep gazing at her. I woke up in the morning with a strange mans hands poking my belly. When I finally focused I seen it was Dr. Tomc�s. He came in to do his check-up visit with me. I told him that he lied about me having the baby before 7 PM. We both got a good laugh out of that one. He let me know that as soon as Aime got the go ahead to go home, that I was free and clear to go too. I just had to call his office when I got released to make my 6-week appointment.
I finally got a room later on that day. One that was big enough for me, John and Aime. They actually have these really great rooms to stay in; they are set up just like a nursery. I got this kick ass bed, nice fluffy pillows, a recliner rocking chair, and John even got a cot to sleep on. It was way better than the area they put me in that night�
Our first night was ROUGH. We tried to get breast-feeding rolling. The first few times went great but then Aime got a little too anxious and she became frenzied so he latching abilities weren�t working at all. We tired and tried and tried, nothing worked. We had our nurse come in and she even tried to help. Eventually at 5 AM after putting ourselves and Aime through hell trying to breast feed we decided to let her have a bottle of formula. The nurse was really great. She showed us how to feed and burp Aime. Once she was fed the bottle she settled right down and went to sleep.
The next day Aime was seen by one of our family doctors partners. Dr.Day had planned his vacation for a week after our due date since he wanted to be able to see us. We figured a week after the due date would be good since they expected me to go in WAY before. Well, we all know how that worked out, so he was on vacation. Dr. Chevalier came in to look at Aime. Since she was delivered by forceps there was some swelling in her forehead, there was no concern for that but Aime has a pronounced forehead (from her father) and the doctor said with her forehead being that pronounced she was concerned with brain damage. **note: John was not around at this point so the doctor could see John�s head She told me that she would come back tomorrow and if the swelling and the �head issue� was still a concern she would send us to the pediatrician.
(I�m skipping all the visitors and stuff�Just letting ya in on a bit more than the important parts�sleeping yet?)
That night all of our sleep went better. The next day we sat about waiting to be discharged from the hospital. We were waiting for the doc to come back and give Aime the go ahead to leave or to tell us that she had to stay for one reason or the other. It took all day for the doc to come back; when she did come and see us she did bring good news. Once she looked at John and seen his forehead in comparison to Aime�s there was no longer a concern with brain damage. WHEW! She released Aime with a good bill of health.
John and I cried when it came time to leave the hospital. It was time to enter the world as parents, to leave the safe haven of the hospital and go into the uncertainty of the car ride home. We were just too paranoid.
I had a hard time. I was SORE! 22 stitches will do that to a poor girl especially when she�s got to get her ass into a very LOW car. All I can say is OUCH!
Aime was perfect for the ride home. Not a peep out of her. John was VERY nervous driving home (40 minutes) in the car with a new baby. Let�s just say he did a lot of cursing at some pretty stupid drivers.
John took a week off of work so he could spend some time with Aime and I. The week went by way too quick.
Aime is almost 3 weeks old already. WOW! That means I can get jiggy again in 3 weeks! WOOOOHOOOOOO!!!
I mean�
**GRINS**
So far everything is wonderful. I don�t think there is any way I could be happier. (Maybe if I won the lottery, but it would have to be at least a couple million to get me this excited).
Our first week check up went fine. She weighed 8lbs 0.4oz. There were no problems to report.
Our visit we just had with Dr.Day on Monday went pretty well too. She is now up to 8lbs 7oz. She�s 21 inches long and she�s eating, poopin� and peein� just the way she�s supposed to.
One concern�
The soft spot at the front of her head is LARGE. She�s got to be checked once again on the 1st of November. If the gap has not gotten smaller we will have to see the pediatrician just to make sure there is not a problem with her skull and the bones not being able to fuse when they need to. I just pray there is nothing wrong with her head. The chances are slim, but there is still a chance and that�s what scares the crapola out of me.
But there you have it; you are all caught up.
Once my membership with diaryland is fixed I will be able to post pictures once again. I will have the ones we got done on the 27th of October. I can�t wait to have those ones they are so cute!
I am going to post some pics in the next few days on my homepage. You can get to that by clicking on the link that says �Homepage�.

12:50 a.m. - 10.21.04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

justibuster
ebony-eyes5
violetwoman
savecraig
unclebob
procrasto
neva4getme
rose36138
raziela
cutielatina
bossique
girlie03
under-shadow
ittybittycat
wifemotherme
trapidi
misspersonal
stealinghope
greenpearl8
iamdana
justlaugh
adventyouth
sillysub
velvetheart
glitterqueen
funkydoodle
pnkpnthr
kalisa
o-twinkle-o
koror
andrew
greenpearl8
cyanidecandy
therertimes