lc23tina's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

One Year

It's hard to belive that is has been one year.

One year ago...

I was sitting at my computer talking to Drew when I heard my sister Barb running up my stairs. She looked horrified. She wanted to know if I had my television on, it wasn't which was odd in the first place. She took the remote and turned on CNN. I seen it, I didn't belive it, but I seen it.

There were reports coming from every source, but no one knew what was going on for sure. As far as they knew one of the WTC towers had an explosion. Then, watching the t.v. we see plane hit the other tower. I covered my mouth to stop from screaming. Me being scared of planes since I was a child, I was freeking. I came back on the computer and asked Drew if he knew what was happening, he didn't.

My Mom called me, Wanda called me, I called everyone I knew. It was happening and yet everyone I talked to I kept saying that it wasn't real, it couldn't be real. I watched the news coverage the whole day. I watched the news coverage for the next 5 days, with very little or no sleep. My friend Gill messaged me about 1 in the afternoon telling me that his company just got word that their 2 employee's were in the WTC at the time of the attack for a meetting. Gill was supposed to be there that day, but his wife was sick and he missed his buisness trip. Both men died in the attack.

When the kids came home for lunch from school they asked about it, their teacher had told them about what was going on, but you know kids, they don't understand like we do. We explained what had been going on and Lena asked me if we were all going to die. I didn't know what to tell her. I didn't know how far these attacks were going to go, no one did.

I just know how scared I was. I know how small I felt. I know how hard I cried.

I remember the silence that night, sitting outside with Barb and Mike, watching the skies. It was eerie.

I followed the story for 5 days. Finally, I was told I wasn't allowed to watch anymore television. When I slept, I seen the plane smashing into the tower, I seen the desperate people jumping from the builings, I seen the building's collapse. Over and over again.

For quite a while I had a really hard time sleeping.

Looking back now...One year later, I have come to realize that too many people take life for granted. Now I try to treasure every day. I take the time to hug a little longer, to pray a little more, and to live for wanting what I have, not having what I want.

I now have the love of my life, I have a job, I have two beautiful sister's, one awesome brother, one loving mother, a father that's coming around, two amazing neice's, two wonderful nephew's. Looking at it, I'm not doing to shabby.

Wether it be one year, or five years later...Give someone you love a hug, tell them you love them, make sure they know every single day.

I added these lyrics a few days after the attacks. I am one who strongly belives that one day there will be peace for all.

IMAGINE BY: JOHN LENNON

IMAGINE THERE'S NO HEAVEN - IT'S EASY IF YOU TRY. NO HELL BELOW US - ABOVE US ONLY SKY. IMAGINE ALL THE PEOPLE LIVING FOR TODAY.

IMAGINE THERE'S NO COUNTRIES - IT ISN'T HARD TO DO - NOTHING TO KILL OR DIE FOR - AND NO RELIGION TOO. IMAGINE ALL THE PEOPLE LIVING LIFE IN PEACE.

YOU MAY SAY I'M A DREAMER - BUT I'M NOT THE ONLY ONE - AND I HOPE SOME DAY YOU'LL JOIN US AND THE WORLD WILL BE AS ONE.

IMAGINE NO POSSESSION - I WONDER IF YOU CAN - NO NEED FOR GREED OR HUNGER. A BROTHERHOOD OF MAN. IMAGINE ALL THE PEOPLE SHARING ALL THE WORLD.

YOU MAY SAY I'M A DREAMER - BUT I'M NOT THE ONLY ONE - AND I HOPE SOME DAY YOU'LL JOIN US AND THE WORLD WILL LIVE AS ONE.

Live, Laugh, Love...For we never know what tomorrow holds.

-Tina

2:17 a.m. - 2002-09-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

justibuster
ebony-eyes5
violetwoman
savecraig
unclebob
procrasto
neva4getme
rose36138
raziela
cutielatina
bossique
girlie03
under-shadow
ittybittycat
wifemotherme
trapidi
misspersonal
stealinghope
greenpearl8
iamdana
justlaugh
adventyouth
sillysub
velvetheart
glitterqueen
funkydoodle
pnkpnthr
kalisa
o-twinkle-o
koror
andrew
greenpearl8
cyanidecandy
therertimes