lc23tina's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Valentine's Day...Who needs it? /Catchup on my week

The end of my working week is here.

!HAPPY VALENTINES DAY!

I haven't had a chance to update. Either I was at work or home sleeping. No time for anything else. Believe me! I've pulled some pretty long shifts this week. I'm telling you, I am not begging for hours now. I am begging for sleep.

Tuesday I worked 17 hours and then went back Wednesday for 13.5 hours. I got done late and had to be back in before 10 a.m. this morning (thursday). I had 3 hours of sleep and then I went right back into work, never missing a beat. This afternoon, once done work it hit me. I laid with Johnny and I conked right out, woke up tonight about 8 p.m. when the alarm was going off. I told John there would be NO way that I would sleep a lot, so there was no need to set the alarm. Thank god I listened to him, if the alarm didn't go off we would both probably be sleeping still.

I am getting more comfortable with the lift at work. I drove it Tuesday and Wednesday quite frequently. I haven't been on since I was brought to tears.

Here's the story.

As I said I drove it all day, not a problem. Okay, I stalled it once, but that's because I was side shifting and I didn't have my foot on the gas and it didn't have the guts to handle it. But anyway, I was pulling down mono's (90-130 pound steel cages), moving skids, doing this and that...

The night shift came in, and of course me being the newbie on the lift they had their share of little jokes to pull on me. M-M turned off my propane tank and it stalled on me, then he hopped on the back and asked for a ride. Now, I may look like an idiot but I am not one. I remeber the fine of $50,000 for breaking the law and carrying a passanger. If I killed him or something freaky happened I could and would have been in a TON of shit. So it was a no go. I told him to get off the lift and he obliged. (I passed his "test").

I didn't think there were anymore jokes to play on me. You know, they were laughing, they had their fun...

WRONG.

I had a mono on my forks. This makes me nervous because the things are huge, and my shop is pretty cluttered, not much room to get around. You have to be on your toes and you have to pray your judgement and eyes sight aren't off. Okay back to the story...

I had the mono on the forks and I look in front of me and then to the back of me (followed all rules) and then in front and then in back, since I was going in reverse that's my main concern, that way there I am not guessing and then running someone over. My focus was on the 1,000 pound (plus) paper rolls and making my way to point B. I started to go and M-B kicked the mono. I thought I dropped the load.

I started to cry instantly, it scared me that bad.

I put the parking brake on, put that mother into neutral and shut it off. With the load still on the forks I looked at him and screamed "You can move this fucking thing yourself now, and I hope your cock falls off too!". He said that I reacted well, by stopping the lift. I didn't panic and hit the gas and kill someone or myself.

A week and a half on the forklift and I've already had a heart attack.

Nice guys I work with eh?

I just know that I will never get on the lift during their shift again. I will beg, plead, and even cry if I have to. Just to avoid it all together.

Can you believe that's been the most exciting thing all week?

I need a life.

Ha!

In other news, it seems that it's after midnight. You know what that means right? Yeah...

CUPID IS ON THE LOOSE

John and I decided on a gift for the both of us. Chinese food! I have no problems with that =)

We don't really have the money to spend on something extravagant. Dinner is fine. Maybe some after dinner delight? I hope so.

OH I HOPE SO!

That's the problem with us working so much. It really puts a damper on the sex life.

But what can I say?

When I get it, I get it GOOD!

I'm outta here. Make sure you keep this in mind.

*Valentine's day is a commerical holiday created by the chocolate industry.

*Roses that you can buy during the week for $12.99 have now become $49.99.

*You should always make sure your spouse or significant other knows you love them, not just one day out of the year, but everyday.

*Chocolates will only add 10 pounds of unwanted fat to your ass.

And...

*The holiday would be worth more if it were a paid day off work.

Don't you agree?

-Tina

2:31 a.m. - 2003-02-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

justibuster
ebony-eyes5
violetwoman
savecraig
unclebob
procrasto
neva4getme
rose36138
raziela
cutielatina
bossique
girlie03
under-shadow
ittybittycat
wifemotherme
trapidi
misspersonal
stealinghope
greenpearl8
iamdana
justlaugh
adventyouth
sillysub
velvetheart
glitterqueen
funkydoodle
pnkpnthr
kalisa
o-twinkle-o
koror
andrew
greenpearl8
cyanidecandy
therertimes